Acquisition of documents for our collections  

The CNA's primary mission is to ensure the safeguarding of the national audiovisual heritage of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg It is an archive that acquires and preserves the Luxembourgish moving image, photography and sound heritage for the future. 

Building up the Grand Duchy's national heritage through the collection and presevation of Luxembourg's audiovisual memory.

The CNA acquires new material via a variety of avenues. In all cases, acquisitions are subject to a written agreement or equivalent legal understanding between the donor, depositor, vendor and the CNA.

Legal deposit - In this case, the physical items become the property of the CNA. The copyright remains with the original copyright holder. The exact conditions are detailed in a Grand-Ducal Regulation.[1] You can find all our information sheets concerning any legal deposits here.

Donation – ownership of the items transfers to the CNA. Copyright may also be conveyed partially or in full as part of this transaction but usually rests with the original copyright holder. The Médiathèque, at times, receives donations of books fitting the collection policy, which are either integrated into the Médiathèque or into the archives, depending on the document’s physical and cultural value.

Deposit – items are lodged with the CNA but ownership and copyright remain with the depositor. According to the contract signed with the depositor, the CNA may manage the access, publication and re-use rights. Retrieval of Items for which the CNA has invested resources in are subject to monetary compensation from the depositor.

Bequest – the CNA welcomes such contributions on the basis of agreed selection and relevance.

Purchase – The CNA becomes the owner of the purchased items. Copyright may also be conveyed partially or in full as part of this transaction but usually rests with the original copyright holder. Purchases are made from a variety of sources: 

● Directly from creators or their right holders

● CNA grant programs

● CNA residency programs

● CNA exhibitions and events

● CNA commissions

● Other sources (antique dealers, flea markets, galleries, auction sales...)

● Collectors 

[1] See http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/rgd/2009/11/06/n8/jo and http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/rgd/2017/12/21/a1119/jo


 

 

Do you have documents that you wish to deposit in the CNA archives?
Fill out our form!

 

Selection Criteria

Selection forms an integral part of the archiving process. The subject content, quality and other pragmatic issues concerning a collection all play a role in collection development and collection management. Selection, consciously undertaken on the basis of clear criteria, ensures controlled and careful decision making. This allows the CNA to efficiently guarantee the security of the moving image, photographic and sound heritage considered to be of long-term cultural-historical value. 

Except for works acquired by the CNA via legal deposit, inclusion in the collection must meet at least one and preferably more of the following criteria: 

● Fits within the objective of preserving, presenting and studying Luxembourgish moving image, photographic and sound heritage and its historical as well as technological development

● Contains a high degree of information concerning social or historical events, considering Luxembourg society, politics, culture, economy, nature, environment, science, sports, architecture etc.

● Was created by or related to public personalities or well-known persons from Luxembourg

● Has received a prize or an award

● Documents or relates to cultural heritage works from other areas (theatre, music, dance, etc.)

● Has high informative and/or (re-)use value in that it is considered to have long-term artistic, sociological, cultural, historical, political and/or scientific value

● Demonstrates a medium’s technical evolution over time 

● Completes or enhances the value of a work already in the collection

● Is considered rare or unique: by subject, author, artistic and/or technical value and authenticity

● Is a format that has sufficient technical quality to meet contemporary re-use needs (e.g. VHS is not considered ideal) unless the content is considered rare and meets one or more of the above criteria

● Is relevant to the history of media in Luxembourg (Author, subject, technical aspects, genre, period)
 

 

 

 

Contact our acquisition service

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Information about the objects

Medium*

By sending this form, you agree that your personal data will be used to process your request. To learn more about the use of your personal data and the exercise of your rights, please consult our privacy policy.

Please note that deposit requests may take some time to process, but we promise to get back to you within 15 business days. Please note that by submitting a deposit request, you do not automatically have an appointment at the CNA. An appointment will only be made after you've received a favorable response from our archive service. Please do not come directly to the CNA. In the meantime, feel free to check out our collection policy (Pdf, 25.91 Mb) to become better acquainted with the CNA collection.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last update

Acquisition de documents pour nos collections  

La première mission du CNA est d’assurer la sauvegarde du patrimoine audiovisuel  du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. C’est une archive qui acquiert et préserve le patrimoine luxembourgeois dans les domaines de l’image animée, de la photographie et du son. 

Collectionner et conserver la mémoire audiovisuelle du Luxembourg pour constituer le patrimoine national. 

Le CNA acquiert de nouveaux documents par différents moyens. Dans tous les cas, les acquisitions sont assujetties à un accord écrit ou à une convention légale équivalente entre le donateur, le déposant ou le vendeur et le CNA.

Dépôt légal - Les documents physiques deviennent la propriété du CNA. Les ayants droit conservent les droits. Les conditions exactes du dépôt sont précisées dans un règlement grand-ducal.[1]

Don - La propriété des documents est transférée au CNA. Les droits peuvent également être cédés en partie ou en totalité dans le cadre de cette transaction, mais ils restent généralement auprès du titulaire original. La Médiathèque reçoit parfois des dons de livres qui s'inscrivent dans la politique de collecte et qui sont intégrés soit à la Médiathèque, soit dans les archives, selon la valeur physique et culturelle du document.

Dépôt volontaire - Les documents sont déposés au CNA mais la propriété de ces documents et les droits qui s’y rattachent restent auprès du déposant. Selon le contrat signé avec le déposant, la CNA peut gérer les droits d'accès, de publication et de réutilisation. La récupération par le déposant de documents dans lesquels le CNA a déjà investi des ressources donne lieu à une facturation.

Legs – Le CNA peut accueillir des legs sur la base d'une sélection préalable.

Achat - Le CNA devient propriétaire des articles achetés. Les droits peuvent également être cédés en partie ou en totalité dans le cadre de cette transaction, mais ils restent généralement auprès de l’ayant droit original. Les achats sont effectués par différents moyens :

● directement auprès des auteurs ou de leurs ayants droit,

● dans le cadre des bourses du CNA,

● dans le cadre des programmes de résidence du CNA,

● dans le cadre d’expositions et d’événements du CNA,

● dans le cadre de commandes photographiques du CNA,

● auprès d’autres sources (antiquaires, brocantes, galeries, ventes aux enchères...),

● auprès de collectionneurs.

 

[1] Voir http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/rgd/2009/11/06/n8/jo et http://legilux.public.lu/eli/etat/leg/rgd/2017/12/21/a1119/jo


 

 

Avez-vous des documents que vous souhaitez déposer aux archives du CNA? Remplissez notre formulaire! 

 

 

 

Critères de sélection

La sélection fait partie intégrante du processus d'archivage. Le contenu, la qualité et des questions d’ordre pratique jouent tous un rôle dans l’évolution et la gestion d’une collection. La sélection, effectuée consciemment sur la base de critères clairs, garantit une prise de décision contrôlée et réfléchie. Cela permet au CNA de garantir efficacement la préservation du patrimoine audiovisuel, photographique et sonore considéré comme ayant une valeur culturelle et historique à long terme.

À l'exception des œuvres acquises par dépôt légal, une œuvre doit répondre à au moins un et, de préférence, à plusieurs des critères suivants pour entrer dans les collections du CNA:

● s’inscrire dans la mission de préservation, de mise à disposition et d’étude du patrimoine audiovisuel, photographique et sonore luxembourgeois, ainsi que de son évolution historique et technologique.

● contenir un haut degré d'information sur des événements sociaux ou historiques concernant la société, la politique, la culture, l'économie, la nature, l'environnement, la science, le sport, l'architecture, etc. au Luxembourg.

● témoigner de la vie quotidienne d'une période, d'une région ou d’une communauté luxembourgeoise particulière.

● avoir été créée par ou être en relation avec des personnalités publiques ou des personnalités connues au Luxembourg.

● avoir reçu un prix ou une récompense.

● documenter ou se rapporter à des œuvres du patrimoine culturel dans autres domaines (théâtre, musique, danse, etc.).

● posséder une valeur informative et/ou de (ré)utilisation élevée dans la mesure où elle est considérée comme ayant une valeur artistique, sociologique, culturelle, historique, politique et/ou scientifique à long terme.

● montrer l'évolution technique d'un média au fil du temps.

● compléter ou valoriser une œuvre déjà présente dans la collection.

● être considérée comme rare ou unique par son sujet, son auteur, sa valeur artistique et/ou technique et sa pertinence.

● être dans un format dont la qualité technique est suffisante pour répondre aux besoins actuels de réutilisation (p. ex. la VHS n'est pas considérée comme un format idéal), à moins que le contenu ne soit considéré comme rare et réponde à un ou plusieurs des autres critères cités ici.

● témoigner de l'histoire des médias au Luxembourg (auteur, sujet, aspects techniques, genre, période).
 

 

 

 

Contactez le service Dépôt 

Les champs marqués d’une étoile (*) sont obligatoires.

Pays de résidence*
Raison de la demande de dépôt*

Informations sur le dépôt

Média*
État des objets*

En validant ce formulaire, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient utilisées pour traiter votre demande.
Pour en savoir plus sur l'utilisation de vos données personnelles et sur l'exercice de vos droits, veuillez consulter notre politique de confidentialité

Veuillez noter que les demandes de dépôt peuvent prendre un certain temps, mais nous nous engageons à vous répondre dans un délai de 15 jours ouvrables. Merci de bien vouloir noter qu’en introduisant une proposition de dépôt, vous ne disposez pas automatiquement d’un rendez-vous au CNA. Celui-ci ne sera fixé qu’après un retour favorable par notre service archive. Merci de ne pas vous déplacer directement au CNA.  En attendant, n'hésitez pas à lire notre politique de collecte pour vous familiariser davantage avec la collection du CNA. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dernière modification le