A unique cultural diversity in the field of sound and image! 

A platform open to the general public as well as a professional institution, the CNA was created in 1989 and placed under the helm of the Ministry of Culture. The institute's main mission is to preserve and promote Luxembourg's audiovisual heritage and to make its large resources of moving image, photography and sound accessible to all through exhibitions, publications, screenings, conferences and other events open to a large audience.

Production, distribution, conservation, restoration, creation and education, the CNA's tasks are multiple and varied and require the participation of numerous national and international experts and creators.

The CNA supports young talent as well as established artists, filmmakers, producers and musicians by engaging in film, audiovisual and musical (co)productions. The CNA also promotes the creation of new photographic works through different grant and residency programs and photographic commissions. These encourage an artist's development, or enable the production and/or publication of their work. Such initiatives also contribute to the documentation of visually relevant subjects relating to Luxembourg’s social, environmental and urban development. While the CNA's sound and film studios, the restoration workshop and the archives further meet the needs of professionals and creators in the audiovisual field.

The CNA's education department provides various workshops and educational opportunities for children, adolescents, adults and professionals, as well as conferences and seminars, often in collaboration with international experts. The aim  is to introduce the public to the knowledge and use of audiovisual media for cultural and educational purposes, and to implement specific training adapted to the needs of our various designated communities.  

It is also a museum, with a permanent international collection: Edward Steichen's The Family of Man in Clervaux Castle, along with other temporary exhibitions presented at the CNA's art gallery spaces Display 01, Pomhouse and the water tower in Dudelange. Together, these collections are complemented by an extensive cultural program consisting of conferences, seminars and artist’s talks,  as well as film projections in the CNA's two-screen cinema (CinéStarlight) and the services of its lending library, Médiathèque. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The CNA's missions and activities

The institutions official missions are: 

  • to ensure the safeguarding of the national audiovisual heritage through legal deposit, voluntary deposit, donation or purchase of audiovisual, cinematographic, sound and photographic documents, produced on the national territory and made available to the public regardless of their technical production processes, publishing or distribution, to which can be attached documents produced abroad and in particular those of significant importance for this same heritage; 

  • to make audiovisual heritage, as well as audiovisual documents of cultural and educational value, accessible to interested parties; to introduce the public to the knowledge and use of audiovisual media for cultural and educational purposes, and to implement specific training adapted to the needs of our various designated communities; 
  •  to produce or support the production of works in the audiovisual field, including radio and television works of significant cultural interest for the national community or which are necessary for the accomplishment of the missions devolved on the establishment;

  • to organize or promote public events of an artistic nature and which fall within the audiovisual field; to collect and make accessible to the public documentation on the various uses and techniques of the audiovisual sector as well as artistic and cultural documents relating to the field of audiovisual;

  • to encourage studies and research  in the audiovisual field at the national level in collaboration, if necessary, with similar institutions abroad; to advise public and municipal administrations on collection and circulation procedures, as well as the processing and archiving of audiovisual documents;

  • to promote audiovisual creation in Luxembourg by distributing works in the Grand Duchy and abroad; to collaborate with state and municipal establishments and to coordinate its activities with those of other cultural institutions in the interest of enhancing the national heritage.

 

 

Last update

Une diversité culturelle unique dans le domaine du son et de l'image!

Plateforme ouverte au grand public et institution professionnelle à la fois, le CNA a été créé en 1989 et placé sous l’autorité du Ministère de la Culture. L’institut a pour vocation de conserver et valoriser le patrimoine audiovisuel du Luxembourg et de rendre accessible à tous la culture du son, de l’image fixe et de l’image animée à travers des expositions, des publications, des projections, des conférences ou d’autres manifestations qui visent un large public.

Production, distribution, conservation, restauration, soutien à la création ou éducation, les tâches des trois départements (film, photographie et son) du CNA sont multiples et variées et sollicitent la participation de nombreux spécialistes et créateurs nationaux et internationaux.

Le CNA soutient les jeunes talents ainsi que les artistes, cinéastes, producteurs et musiciens établis en s'engageant dans la (co)production cinématographique, audiovisuelle et musicale. Le CNA contribue également à la création de nouvelles œuvres photographiques à travers différents programmes de bourses, de résidences et de commandes photographiques. L’objectif est de soutenir les artistes dans leur évolution et de permettre la production et/ou la publication de leurs œuvres. Il contribue ainsi également à la documentation visuelle sur les changements sociaux, environnementaux et urbains au Luxembourg. Les studios son et prise de vue, l’atelier de restauration et les archives permettent de répondre aux besoins des professionnels et des créateurs du domaine de l’audiovisuel.

La formation et l’éducation à l’image jouent également un rôle important au CNA. De nombreux ateliers et activités pédagogiques sont organisés pour les enfants, les adolescents, les adultes mais aussi pour les professionnels, souvent en collaboration avec des experts internationaux. L’objectif est d’initier le public à la connaissance et à l’utilisation des médias audiovisuels dès le plus jeune âge.

Le CNA est aussi un musée avec la collection The Family of Man d’Edward Steichen qui est exposée en permanence au château de Clervaux et des expositions temporaires dans nos galeries au CNA (Display 01) au château d'eau et au Pomhouse. Ces expositions sont complétées par une programmation dans nos deux salles de cinémas (CinéStarlight) et par une médiathèque.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Missions et activités du CNA

Le Centre national de l'audiovisuel a pour missions:

  • d’assurer la sauvegarde du patrimoine audiovisuel national par dépôt légal, dépôt volontaire, don ou achat de documents audiovisuels, cinématographiques, sonores et photographiques, produits sur le territoire national et mis à disposition d’un public quel que soit leurs procédés techniques de production, d’édition ou de diffusion, auxquels peuvent être joints des documents produits à l’étranger et notamment ceux présentant une importance significative pour ce même patrimoine ;

  • de rendre accessibles aux intéressés le patrimoine audiovisuel, ainsi que de des documents audiovisuels qui présentent une valeur culturelle et éducative ;d’initier le public à la connaissance et à l’usage des moyens de communications audiovisuelles à des fins culturelles et éducatives et de mettre en œuvre une formation spécifique adaptée aux besoins du secteur de la profession audiovisuelle ainsi que de l’enseignement au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ;

  • de produire ou faire produire des œuvres relevant du domaine de l’audiovisuel, y compris des œuvres radiophoniques et télévisées présentant un intérêt culturel significatif pour la communauté nationale ou qui s’avèrent nécessaires pour l’accomplissement des missions dévolues à l’établissement ;

  • d’organiser ou promouvoir des manifestations publiques à caractère artistique et qui relèvent du domaine audiovisuel ;de rassembler et de rendre accessible au public une documentation sur les différents usages et techniques de l’audiovisuel ainsi que des documents artistiques et culturels relevant du domaine de l’audiovisuel ;

  • de susciter au niveau national des études et des recherches dans le domaine de l’audiovisuel en collaboration, si besoin en est, avec des institutions similaires à l’étranger ;de conseiller les administrations publiques et communales sur les procédés de collecte, de circulation, de traitement et d’archivage des documents audiovisuels ;

  • de promouvoir la création audiovisuelle luxembourgeoise en général par une diffusion des œuvres relatives au Luxembourg et à l’étranger ;de collaborer, dans l’exécution des travaux courants, avec les établissement de l’Etat et des communes et de coordonner ses activités avec celles des autres institutions culturelles dans l’intérêt de la mise en valeur du patrimoine national.

 

 

Découvrez le rapport d'activité 2020 du CNA! (Pdf, 27,28 Mo)

Dernière modification le