Access the CNA collection 

 

The CNA champions the principle of free access to collections and collection information, and strives to make as much as possible of its archive holdings accessible to its clients.

CNA archive content is made accessible to users in many venues. Its availability in public conferences, exhibitions and exhibition catalogues, through screenings in cinemas and other venues, and its distribution on television, websites, vod platforms and various social networks allow the CNA to reach previously overlooked audiences. Collaboration with students and academics raises their awareness of the significance of the audiovisual and photographic archives as historical and sociological sources. CNA’s digitization effort is primarily driven by its desire to greatly increase access to users and this effort has gradually built an impressive digital collection. 

CNA’s clients can be broadly categorized into four groups:  

Media professionals

Examples of people in this group include people who work in radio and television broadcasting; the professional music production industry; for motion picture production companies (cinema) and the press. Other media professionals produce content for publishing outlets (e.g. newspapers, blogs, themed online channels, etc.). Users such as these include program and recording producers, editors, web content developers and marketing producers (e.g. promotional advertising).

Researchers and educators

These clients include private individuals who are carrying out scientific research, or work as professionals in educational institutions of every level, from elementary school through university. These academic users are either undertaking private research or are looking to use/incorporate content in an educational setting. Sometimes they use content in productions that are, generally, non-commercial in nature. This community also includes content aggregators who collect metadata about archive content/and or the content itself from archives in order to make it available via a shared platform they operate as a service.

Non-Profit Organizations

These institutions include a range of organizational types: national and international institutions that work with historical cultural heritage, as well as cultural associations (e.g. Friends of Music), museums, galleries, historical societies, political parties but also sport clubs, foundations, NGO’s etc. They use CNA content (digital as well as physical objects) in exhibitions, publications, conferences etc. as well as in productions such as commemorative videos.

General public

The public is exposed to CNA content in a number of ways: online, in exhibitions, in publications, in workshops, via social media or mainstream media and through the creation of CNA productions. When requesting access to archive content, it is in general for personal use or simply in order to learn more about a particular subject. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Access Services

Access to the audio, moving images and photographic collections can be provided only with the help of CNA staff on the basis of precise requests made via the form provided for this purpose.

Once potential archive content is located by CNA research staff, it is made available to professional researchers (academia, professional productions) in the form of low-resolution access copies. The CNA never provides master files to researchers until the institution knows the purpose of consultation and re-use, and a contract has been signed. Once signed, high resolution copies are made available. 

Loans are an important tool used to broaden access to as wide a public as possible. Temporary exhibitions regularly include works from CNA collections and are developed in collaboration with experts from different fields (e.g. curators, publishers, lecturers, conservationists, academia, writers, national and international institutions, museums and associations).

Content Re-Use

The re-use of archive material in new productions enables the broader dissemination of and awareness about CNA collections. Sales to national and international professionals is one of the most efficient ways archival footage, sound and photographic content is made available. Such content enriches new documentaries, feature films, tv shows, exhibitions, books, CDs etc. and offer artists the opportunity to work with it in creative ways.

CNA content is made available for re-use in different contexts. 

Commercial purposes

CNA defines a commercial purpose as primarily intended for or directed towards commercial advantage or monetary compensation (public television and radio stations are included in commercial purpose insofar as they broadcast to non-Luxembourgish territories). Reuse for commercial purposes is subject to the payment of a fee depending on the use and scope of each project. The fees are defined in CNA’s official price list and depend on the quantity of footage or documents involved. 

Noncommercial purposes

The CNA strives to allow reuse free of charge for non-commercial usage. However, if copyrighted material is involved, the user will have to pay a fee as defined in CNA’s official price list or as negotiated by the CNA with the right holders. All clients who receive archive content for reuse sign a license agreement detailing time limits, geographical restrictions, etc. 

 

 

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Personal Information

User*
Domain*

Informations sur la recherche

Desired Media*

Purpose of request

Are the requested items intended for use in a public project?*

By sending this form, you agree that your personal data will be used to process your request. To learn more about the use of your personal data and the exercise of your rights, please consult our privacy policy.

Please note that access requests may take some time to process, but we promise to get back to you within 20 business days. Depending on your request, our media library may also have the documents you need. You can consult the media library's collection here.

In the meantime, feel free to check out our collection policy (Pdf, 25.91 Mb) to become better acquainted with the CNA collection.

 

 

 

 

 

Last update

Accès aux collections du CNA 

 

Le CNA défend le principe du libre accès aux collections et à l'information sur les collections et s'efforce de rendre autant que possible ses fonds d'archives accessibles à ses utilisateurs. Le contenu des archives du CNA est rendu accessible aux utilisateurs par de nombreux moyens. En le valorisant à travers des conférences publiques, des expositions et des catalogues d'expositions, par le biais de projections dans les salles de cinémas et d’autres lieux, la diffusion à la télévision, sur les sites web, sur les plateformes de vod (vidéo à la demande) et sur divers réseaux sociaux, le CNA atteint des publics qu’il ne touchait pas jusqu’alors. La collaboration avec les étudiants et les universitaires sensibilise ceux-ci à l'importance des archives audiovisuelles et photographiques en tant que sources historiques et sociologiques. L'effort de numérisation du CNA est principalement motivé par son désir d'accroître considérablement l’accessibilité des documents pour les utilisateurs et cet effort a progressivement permis de constituer une impressionnante collection numérique. 

Les utilisateurs du CNA peuvent être classés en quatre grandes catégories : 

Les professionnels des médias

Ce groupe comprend entre autres les personnes qui travaillent dans le domaine de la radiodiffusion et de la télédiffusion, dans l'industrie musicale, dans les sociétés de production cinématographique et dans la presse. D'autres professionnels des médias, qui produisent du contenu pour des publications (journaux, blogs, chaînes thématiques en ligne, etc.), sont notamment les producteurs de programmes et d'enregistrements, les éditeurs, les développeurs de contenu web et les agences de marketing (qui produisent p. ex. des publicités).

Chercheurs et éducateurs

Ces utilisateurs sont des personnes qui font de la recherche scientifique ou qui travaillent dans des établissements d'enseignement à tous les niveaux, de l'école primaire à l'université. Elles entreprennent des recherches privées ou bien veulent utiliser ou intégrer du contenu dans un cadre éducatif. Parfois, elles utilisent le contenu dans des productions qui sont, en général, de nature non commerciale. Cette communauté comprend également des agrégateurs de contenus qui collectent des métadonnées sur le contenu des archives et/ou le contenu lui-même des archives afin de le rendre disponible via une plate-forme partagée qu'ils exploitent de façon non commerciale.

Les organismes sans but lucratif

Ces organismes comprennent un éventail assez large de types d'organisations : institutions nationales et internationales qui travaillent avec le patrimoine culturel historique ainsi qu’associations culturelles (par exemple Friends of Music), musées, galeries, sociétés historiques, partis politiques mais aussi clubs sportifs, fondations, ONG, etc. Ils utilisent le contenu du CNA (qu'il s'agisse de documents numériques ou physiques) dans des expositions, des publications, des conférences, etc. ainsi que dans des productions telles que des films commémoratifs.

Le grand public

Le public a accès au contenu du CNA de plusieurs façons : en ligne, dans les expositions, les publications, les ateliers, les médias sociaux ou les médias grand public et dans les productions du CNA. Lorsque ces personnes demandent l'accès à des contenus d'archives, c’est généralement en vue d'un usage personnel ou simplement pour en savoir davantage sur un sujet particulier.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Services d'accès

L'accès au collections audio, images animées et photographiques se fait principalement avec l’aide du personnel du CNA sur base de demandes formulées de manière très précise dans le formulaire prévu à cet effet ci-joint. 

Une fois que le personnel du CNA a localisé le contenu recherché, celui-ci est mis à la disposition sous la forme de copies en basse résolution. Le CNA ne fournit jamais de fichiers en haute résolution aux utilisateurs tant qu’il ne connaît pas le but de la consultation et de la réutilisation, et qu'un contrat n'a pas été signé. Une fois ce contrat signé, des fichiers en haute résolution sont mis à disposition. 

Les prêts de documents physiques sont un outil important pour élargir l'accès à un public aussi varié que possible. Des expositions temporaires incluent régulièrement des œuvres provenant des collections du CNA et sont réalisées en collaboration avec des experts de différents domaines (curateurs, éditeurs, conférenciers, conservateurs, universitaires, écrivains, institutions nationales et internationales, musées et associations, par ex.).

Réutilisation des contenus

La réutilisation des documents d'archives dans de nouvelles productions permet une plus grande diffusion et une meilleure connaissance des collections du CNA. La vente de contenu aux professionnels nationaux et internationaux est l'un des moyens les plus efficaces de mettre à disposition des images d'archives, du son et des photographies. Ce contenu enrichit alors de nouveaux documentaires, longs métrages, émissions de télévision, expositions, livres, CD, etc. et offre aux artistes la possibilité de travailler de manière créative avec les archives.

Le contenu du CNA est mis à disposition pour être réutilisé dans différents contextes.

Utilisation commerciale

Le CNA définit une utilisation commerciale comme étant principalement orientée vers un avantage commercial ou une compensation monétaire (les stations de télévision et de radio publiques diffusant dans les territoires non luxembourgeois sont incluses dans l’utilisation commerciale). La réutilisation à des fins commerciales est soumise au paiement d'une licence en fonction de l'utilisation et de la portée de chaque projet. Les prix sont définis dans la liste de prix officielle du CNA et dépendent de la quantité ou des documents utilisés.

Utilisation non commerciale

Le CNA s'efforce de permettre la réutilisation gratuite à des fins non commerciales. Toutefois, s'il s'agit de matériel protégé par le droit d'auteur, l'utilisateur devra payer une licence telle que définie dans la liste de prix officielle du CNA ou telle que négociée par le CNA avec les détenteurs des droits. Tous les clients qui reçoivent des contenus d'archives pour réutilisation signent un contrat de licence détaillant les délais, les restrictions géographiques, etc. 

 

 

Les champs marqués d’une étoile (*) sont obligatoires.

Coordonnées personnelles

Pays de résidence*
Utilisateur/trice*
Domaine*

Informations sur la recherche

Média souhaité*

Information sur l'exploitation

Les éléments demandés sont-ils destinés à l’utilisation dans le cadre d’un projet public ? *

En validant ce formulaire, vous acceptez que vos données personnelles soient utilisées pour traiter votre demande.
Pour en savoir plus sur l'utilisation de vos données personnelles et sur l'exercice de vos droits, veuillez consulter notre politique de confidentialité

Veuillez noter que les réponses aux demandes de recherche et questions concernant notre collection peuvent prendre un certain temps, mais nous nous engageons à vous répondre dans les 20 jours ouvrables.

En attendant, n'hésitez pas à lire notre politique de collecte pour vous familiariser davantage avec la collection du CNA.

Selon votre demande, il est possible que notre Médiathèque dispose des documents dont vous avez besoin. Vous pouvez consulter les fonds de la Médiathèque ici.

 

 

 

 

 

Dernière modification le