Exhibition Exhibition & Publication Hors-Champs Christian Aschman

From May 16 to November 29 2020 at DISPLAY 01 

In 2018, photographer Christian Aschman was commissioned by the Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) to draw up a visual inventory, both intra and extra muros, of the Agrocenter industrial zone. Located in Mersch, it had been serving the agrifood industry since 1959. With a view to safeguarding a heritage site that had played a central role in the Luxembourg agricultural sector for decades, both the CNA and the photographer agreed that it was vital to establish a photographic record of it.

Spread over an area of thirty hectares, the Agrocenter is made up of twenty or so buildings destined for a variety of uses: production, transformation, sales, storage, quality control and analysis, energy supply, maintenance and administration. Today, the site has been zoned for redevelopment to make way for a new residential and commercial district.  

LThe "Hors-Champs" exhibition is designed as a photographic stroll through a site which at the time of shooting was already partially abandoned and soon destined to vanish. To capture the spirit of the place, Christian Aschman roams through the tree-lined alleys and rows of buildings which demarcate the various sectors of the site which become his primary spatial references. He allows his gaze to wander freely so as to hit upon the point of view that best serves documentary completeness. Yet his choice of viewing angles and perspectives troubles us. Like him, we strive to visually embrace this expanse, to find our way through this setting of concrete and overgrown vegetation. But in vain! The site is simply too vast! To come to grips with this phenomenon, Christian Aschman relies on plays of light and shade, he creates suggestive images while systematically resorting to an "hors-champ" off-camera approach leading to unexpected framings that leave it up to the individual viewer to complete the picture, as it were... and by consequence, the site.

Following on from this visual and factual introduction, Christian Aschman turns his gaze to the buildings' interiors with an approach worthy of archaeological exploration. He singles out the architectural details as well as the functionalities and particularities of the site's most emblematic food-industry installations: the abattoir, the compound animal feed plant, the cereal storage silos, the seed processing station, the grain reception hall and the meeting room. Yet the photographer's gaze is also drawn to the special interior atmospheres of each of these buildings. As he captures these, he translates them into his own visual language to invite us to an astonishing spectacle of colour and light, forms and spaces, materials and technologies that prevailed for over sixty years in this closed off universe inaccessible to the public.

During the numerous shooting sessions in Mersch, Christian Aschman took a total of around 800 pictures, of which only 87 were exhibited at DISPLAy 01. All of the photographs taken in the course of the project have been incorporated into the archives of the CNA and are today part of the photographic heritage of Luxembourg.

Colophon  

  • Photographs 
    Christian Aschman
  • Curator
    Marguy Conzémius

  • Digitization & image processing
    Christian Aschman, Atelier KZG (Bruxelles), Nelly Lefflot

  • Technical crew
    Kurt Gelhausen

  • Prints
    Atelier KZG

  • Frames
    Jellyfish (Bruxelles), InOctavo (Luxembourg)

  • Archival processing of photographs
    Sandy Dos Santos, Francesca Vantellini

  • Light installation
    Romain Girtgen

  • Communication
    Anne-Laure Letellier
  • Graphic Design 
    Atelier Olivier Lamy (Bruxelles)

  • Translations & proof-reading
    Peter Leonard, Yusuf Samantar

 

Publication

In parallel to the photographic undertaking, contextual research was carried out into the genesis of the industrial complex. This rapidly developed into a veritable odyssey through a wealth of potentially usable sources providing explanations and reasons for the development of the site and the architectural styles implemented. Thanks to meetings, discussions and interviews, this investigation was completed and enhanced with formal, factual and personal information.

Following on from the editorial contributions on the photographic approaches applied by the photographer and the presentation of the genesis of the site and its buildings, pride of place is evidently given to the photographs of Christian Aschman. A first part describes the surroundings and the quest for the site and its buildings as seen from the outside. This is followed by an exploration of the Agrocenter in the form of a photographic stroll through the long avenues demarcating the various architectural complexes. A third series of images takes the form of a dialogue between the photographs of Christian Aschman and the historical photographs of the site taken between the 1950s and the 1980s. The final and most important section of the book is designed as an inventory of the interiors of the various buildings thanks to which we discover the machines and the technical installations, which at times verge on being works of art and mise en scène in their own right.

In her essay "The Mersch Silo - an exceptional example of agro-industrial architecture", art historian Antoinette Lorang, carries out an analysis of all the information gathered and accumulated, presents surprising references and examples that may have influenced the architects and the contracting authorities and shares with us her conclusions regarding the architecture of this site, at times both astonishing and unexpected. She also takes a more specific look at the involvement of the Luxembourg architect Arthur Thill in the initial construction phase. 

Buy the catalogue

Artist Biography 

Christian Aschman, born in 1966 in Luxembourg, graduated from the ERG school (Ecole de Recherche Graphique) in Brussels before embarking on a career as an independent photographer in 1992. He is the author of numerous fashion reportages, portraits and photographic commissions on the theme of the city, with a special emphasison construction and architecture. 

Open and curious with regard to photography, his personal and artistic work has developed in a variety of contexts in keeping with photographic approaches that over time have become his hallmark, as testified by his "Kiosque Gigogne" installation and the publication of his artist's book 'The space in between'. The former was presented at the "KIOSK" by AICA Luxembourg in 2011 in a disused kiosk transformed into a pop-up exhibition space, while the latter was created  in the course of an arist's residency in 2014 in Tokyo at the Youkobo Art Space, published by Théophile's Papers and supportet by the "Bourse CNA - Aide à la création et à la diffusion en photographie" (CNA grant - Endowment for photographic creation and publication). 

Such publications have begun to play an increasingly important role in the photographic work of Christian Aschman as a daring and by turns playful device that allows him to dialogue his images with multi-dimensional supports and graphic layering. Hence the work "747-8" commissioned and published in 2011 by Cargolux and The Boeing Company and the 2012 untitled artist's book presenting a stroll though his own photographic archives were the beginning of a series of studies and experiments that enabled him to explore and exploit the photographic means of expression in relation to the printed medium.

 In parallel, Christian Aschman's recurrent interest in architecture and art has led him to projects in which, by turns, he has taken on the role of photographer, researcher, author and even publisher. A passionate participant in numerous collaborations, he was involved in the publication of such works as "Mudam, le bâtiment par Ieoh Ming Pei" (Mudam éditions, 2009), "Lëtzebuerg Moderne" (Editions Maison Moderne, 2013), "Erënnerungsraim" (Editions Guy Binsfeld, 2013), "SOLUDEC soixante-cinq ans" (SOLUDEC S.A., 2014) and "Cité des Sciences-Belval 2015" (Le Fonds Belval, 2015).

Christian Aschman has also taken part in individual and collective exhibitions in Luxembourg, Brussels, Paris, Warsaw, New York and Tokyo. He lives and works in Luxembourg. 

 

Last update

Exposition Exposition & Publication Hors-Champs Christian Aschman

Exposition du 16 mai au 29 novembre 2020 au Display 01

En 2018, le photographe Christian Aschman a été mandaté par le Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) pour dresser un inventaire visuel intra- et extra-muros de la zone industrielle dite Agrocenter. Basée à Mersch, elle est dédiée à la filière agroalimentaire depuis 1959. Dans le souci de contribuer à la sauvegarde de ce patrimoine ayant marqué le secteur agricole du Luxembourg durant des décennies, il importait aussi bien au commanditaire qu’au photographe d’en garder une trace par le moyen de la photographie.

Réparti sur un terrain d’une trentaine d’hectares, l’Agrocenter est constitué d’une vingtaine de bâtiments aux destinations les plus diverses ; production, transformation, vente, stockage, contrôle et analyse, approvisionnement en énergie, entretien et administration. Aujourd’hui le site est en voie de disparition pour laisser la place à un nouveau quartier résidentiel et commercial. 

L’exposition « Hors-Champs » est conçue comme une balade du photographe à travers ce lieu déjà partiellement abandonné et sur le point de s’effacer au moment de la prise de vue. Pour saisir l’esprit des lieux, Christian Aschman déambule dans les allées longées d’arbres et de bâtiments qui délimitent les différents secteurs de l’Agrocenter et qui deviennent son premier repère in situ. Il y laisse flotter son regard pour dénicher le meilleur point de vue afin de rendre compte de tout ce qui est à documenter. Le choix de ses angles de vue et de ses perspectives nous perturbe. Comme lui, on cherche à embrasser du regard cette zone étendue, à s’orienter dans ce décor en béton à la végétation à l’abandon. Mais en vain ! Le site est trop vaste ! Pour aller à l’encontre de ce phénomène, Christian Aschman s’appuie sur les jeux de l’ombre et de la lumière, crée des images suggestives et recourt systématiquement au hors-champ provoquant des cadrages inattendus et laissant à chacun la possibilité de compléter les images … et le site.

Après cette introduction visuelle et factuelle, Christian Aschman s’intéresse aux intérieurs des bâtiments et sa démarche prend l’allure d’une fouille archéologique. Il cible les détails architecturaux ainsi que les fonctionnalités et les singularités des fabriques agroalimentaires les plus emblématiques du site ; de l’abattoir, de l’usine d'aliments composés pour le bétail, des silos de stockage pour céréales, de la station de conditionnement de semences, du hall de réception des grains et de la salle de réunion. Mais ce sont aussi les atmosphères dégagées par les intérieurs de chacun de ces bâtiments qui happent le regard du photographe. Il les appréhende et les traduit dans son propre langage visuel pour nous convier au surprenant spectacle de couleurs, de lumières, de formes, d’espaces, de matériaux et de technologies, qui, pendant soixante ans, régnait dans cet univers à huis clos et inaccessible au public.

Les 87 photographies exposées ici sont un extrait des 800 images issues des nombreuses séances de prises de vue de Christian Aschman sur le terrain à Mersch. Elles ont été intégrées dans les archives du CNA et font aujourd’hui partie du patrimoine photographique du Luxembourg.

Colophon  

  • Photographies: 
    Christian Aschman
  • Commissaire
    Marguy Conzémius

  • Numérisation & traitement de l'image:
    Christian Aschman, Atelier KZG (Bruxelles), Nelly Lefflot

  • Equipe technique:
    Kurt Gelhausen

  • Réalisation des tiragees d'exposition:
    Atelier KZG

  • Encadrement:
    Jellyfish (Bruxelles), InOctavo (Luxembourg)

  • Traitement archivistique des photographies: 
    Sandy Dos Santos, Francesca Vantellini

  • Eclairage:
    Romain Girtgen

  • Communication
    Anne-Laure Letellier
  • Conception graphique: 
    Atelier Olivier Lamy (Bruxelles)

  • Traduction et relecture:
    Peter Leonard, Yusuf Samantar

 

Publication

Parallèlement aux séances de prise de vue est lancée une recherche contextuelle sur la genèse de ce complexe industriel. Elle prend vite l’envergure d’une réelle odyssée à travers toute sorte de sources imaginables et creusables rapportant les explications et raisons étant à l’origine de l’aménagement du terrain et des styles architecturaux appliqués. Des rencontres, échanges et interviews ont pu compléter et enrichir l’enquête par des informations formelles, factuelles et personnelles.

Un effet secondaire résultant de cette « chasse aux trésors » est la découverte d’archives publiques et privées oubliées et révélatrices. Non seulement, la générosité de leurs propriétaires a permis de les intégrer dans les archives du CNA, mais elles sont aujourd’hui des sources très appréciées et incontournables pour la bonne compréhension des fabriques et de leur implantation au centre de Mersch.

Dans son texte « Le Silo de Mersch – une architecture agro-industrielle exceptionnelle » présenté ci-après, Antoinette Lorang, historienne de l’art, fait l’analyse de toutes les informations récoltées et accumulées, expose des références et exemples surprenants ayant pu influencer les architectes et le maître d’ouvrage et nous fait part de ses conclusions sur l’architecture des bâtiments par moments surprenante et inattendue. Elle s’arrête également et plus spécifiquement sur l’implication de l’architecte luxembourgeois Arthur Thill dans la première phase de construction du site.

A la suite des contributions rédactionnelles, la place est d’évidence donnée aux photographies de Christian Aschman. Une première partie décrit les alentours et la quête du site et de ses bâtiments vus de l’extérieur. Suivra la déambulation du photographe sur le territoire de l’Agrocenter au travers de longues avenues longeant les différents complexes architecturaux. Un troisième volet d’images se veut un dialogue entre les photographies de Christian Aschman et des photographies historiques du site datant des années 50-80. La plus importante et dernière partie du livre est conçue comme un inventaire des intérieurs des différents bâtiments. Il nous amène à découvrir des détails architecturaux surprenants ainsi que des machines et installations techniques parfois proche de la sculpture.

Il ne nous reste plus qu’à plonger dans l’univers de ce complexe architectural peu connu et de découvrir ses histoires racontées par Christian Aschman.
 

Acheter le catalogue

Biographie de l’artiste

Christian Aschman, né en 1966 à Luxembourg, poursuit ses études à l’Ecole de Recherche Graphique (ERG) à Bruxelles et entame en 1992 une carrière de photographe indépendant. Il est l’auteur de nombreux reportages de mode, de portraits et de commandes photographiques autour du thème de la ville, de la construction et de l’architecture. 

Ouvert et curieux envers la photographie, ses travaux personnels et artistiques évoluent dans différents contextes et selon des approches photographiques qui, au fil des années, lui deviennent propres. L’installation « kiosque gigogne » et l’édition du livre d’artiste « The space in between » en témoignent. L’une a été présentée au KIOSK par AICA Luxembourg en 2011 dans un kiosque désaffecté transformé en lieu d’exposition éphémère pour la promotion de jeunes créateurs à Luxembourg. L’autre a été réalisée dans le cadre de la résidence d’artiste en 2014 à Tokyo au Youkobo Art Space, parue aux éditions Théophile’s Papers et soutenue par la « Bourse CNA – Aide à la création et à la diffusion en photographie ».

Les publications gagnent peu à peu en importance dans l’œuvre photographique de Christian Aschman et lui servent de dispositif – parfois audacieux parfois ludique - faisant dialoguer ses images avec des supports multidimensionnels et des strates graphiques. Ainsi, l’ouvrage « 747-8 » commandité et édité en 2011 par Cargolux et The Boeing Company et le livre d’artiste sans titre de 2012 présentant un voyage à travers ses propres archives photographiques, sont le début d’une série d’études et d’expérimentations qui lui permettent d’explorer et d’exploiter les moyens d’expression de la photographie en relation avec le support imprimé. 

 

Dernière modification le