Production Chronicles of a pandemic Photographic commission

Luxembourg, April 2020 

The unprecedented crisis caused by the spread of the coronavirus is disrupting our habits and our lifestyles, our use of public spaces and our intangible freedoms. One of the CNA’s central missions is documenting the major changes and events affecting Luxembourg. In this context, and in order to promote photographic creation and support its authors, the CNA launched a photographic commission to bear witness to the impact of the pandemic on social environments, as well as on Luxembourg's urban and natural landscapes. These "chronicles of a pandemic" aim to capture often elusive and unreal situations and moods.

The aim of this commission is to document the transformations of landscapes, the shutdown of building sites, the closing of shops, cultural venues, leisure and tourism sites, the abandonment of public places, the decrease of road and air traffic and the cancellation of traditional events that would normally be fixtures in the Grand Duchy’s yearly agenda. A further objective is to have a closer look at the adaptive capacity of entire populations when faced with a new and unprecedented situation, disrupting both their personal and professional lives.

Patrick Galbats - Love in times of Covid-19

After more than two weeks in lockdown, without being able to see our friends, it seems to me that a sweet feeling of euphoria is slowly making itself known. All of a sudden, we are rediscovering the small pleasures of an extended breakfast even on weekdays, of home-cooked meals every night and of sipping coffee on our balconies warmed by the sun without even the noise from a single
aeroplane. Some of us are turning into avid runners, some find themselves doing their tax return a good six months earlier than usual. This current situation finally gives us the opportunity to check some items off our bucket lists.
Might this period that we’re currently living in actually allow us to make up for lost time?
My photographs, all taken during the confinement in Brussels, bear witness to this intimate journey between love, anxiety and ease.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Romain Girtgen - The photographic chronicles by Romain Girtgen

Investigating in Dudelange, Esch and the south of Luxembourg during this forced confinement, has revealed to me urban and natural landscapes in a whole new state of mind. This area, which I'm very familiar with and which usually buzzes with activity, is suddenly completely on hold. Taking pictures in this context is not easy ... there is nobody there! Everyday feels like a Sunday afternoon when people stay at home. At the market in Esch, I encounter a few people who've dared to go out. Folded chairs are stacked behind empty Bistro windows hiding empty counters…
I travel by bike to capture these empty streets, the waiting, the standstill, the outdoor activities…. and this strange new way of meeting, constrained by a distance of 2m and the wearing of masks.
This new situation is also affecting my own life, my family, my immediate surroundings. From one day to the next, we find ourselves isolated from our loved ones and the concept of time begins to take on a whole new dimension.

 

 

Veronique Kolber - On & Off the National 7

Driving in my car, alone, along the National 7. Taking different exists and discovering where the road leads me to. Being isolated in a small space, stepping outside to breath that fresh air.

This work isn’t just a photographic commission, it represents the essential feeling of being free to roam. Something that seemed to be so ordinary before the lockdown.

Documenting the nearly empty cities and the quiet rural landscapes of North Luxembourg. Finding out if there is now more active life in these vast landscapes than in the main cities of the North.

Chasing the sunset light through this moody and idillic scenery, but with a very bizarre feeling that floats amongst all of us. Photographing the quiet nightfall. But also being present when a new day begins..

Andrés Lejona – A photographic documentation of the Moselle region

Creation of a visual register of current aspects of this area.

I wanted to photograph the daily life of the inhabitants of the Moselle region, trying to find the differences between the atmospheres and activities that may exist today, in comparison to the normal state of things outside of the pandemic. My photographs show the businesses of the region - those still working as well as those in shutdown - the (almost complete) absence of traffic in the air, on land and on water, the empty restaurants, the barred bridges marking the border with Germany, the standstill on construction sites, the hiatus in social and cultural life (museums, schools, churches, etc.).

Carole Melchior - L'instantané mobile (1)

At the beginning of April, I set off, I follow landscapes, I cross villages. I photograph at the rhythm of my own journey, I capture little snippets, fragments, I do it intuitively. Color is essential. I drive, I walk, I stop, I observe.

After nineteen days of confinement alone in my home, this border trip seems like a real expedition. I get the strong impresssion of leaving a vessel, my house, to venture outside. Because it seemed to me that I could feel the earth turning beneath me in this form of immobility, in this altered physical and psychic territory. Attentive to every variation in light and temperature, immersed in the partition of the birds, each day somehow became a new experience, my perception of time changed. Everything had seemed so intense to me in these last weeks of March. Fear, sadness, anger, but also joy, and the feeling of spring awakening.

Driven by this feeling, I take on this photographic mission, trying to discover how the pandemic is transforming the towns and places I pass through. Essentially, they are subtle changes, I think. I then take photographs along the way, like the elements of a survey, a digital documentation, a visual flow through which I weave a story, like an ordinary moment.

(1) The term “l'instantané mobile” is borrowed from Jean-Christophe Bailly's book “Le dépaysement”.

 

Marc Schroeder - BREAK

The proposed project revolves around the term "break" which can refer both to "the action of breaking" and an "interruption or "pause".

The emergence of Covid-19 has caused a disruption at all levels of our society and current system: large parts of the economy, people's free movement and the usual social interactions are practically at a standstill; with political leaders and experts alike facing the chaos caused by the virus, the first measure to fight the spread of the disease and in order to gain time, was to put the population in lockdown at home.

The second, somewhat more optimistic, definition of "break" in this context of the crisis is that of an interval of rest and respite from our busy lifestyles. The confinement and our reduced mobility, might represent an opportunity for contemplation, a chance to decelerate, to invent new forms of socialising, to show solidarity and to develop coping mechanisms that can ease the burden of the restrictions currently in force.

Last update

Production Chroniques d'une pandémie Commande photographique

Luxembourg, avril 2020

La crise sans précédent provoquée par la propagation du coronavirus bouleverse nos habitudes et nos modes de vie, notre utilisation des espaces et nos libertés si intangibles. Le Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) a pour mission de documenter les changements majeurs touchant le Luxembourg. Dans ce contexte, il lance une commande photographique pour témoigner de l’impact de la pandémie sur les environnements sociaux, ainsi que sur les paysages urbains et naturels du Luxembourg. Ces « chroniques d’une pandémie » rendront compte de situations et ambiances souvent insaisissables et irréelles.

Six photographes ont pour mission de réaliser une documentation sur les transformations des paysages, l’arrêt des chantiers, commerces, lieux de culture, de loisirs et touristiques, l’abandon des places publiques, la réduction du trafic routier et aérien et l’annulation des manifestations traditionnelles inscrites dans le calendrier annuel. Leur regard se dirigera aussi vers l’adaptation des habitants face à un contexte inédit, bouleversant à la fois leurs vies personnelles et professionnelles.

Chaque photographe a choisi une région du pays et un sujet à couvrir pendant trois semaines durant le mois d’avril.  Pour rester au plus proche de l’actualité, une série de chaque photographe sera publiée toutes les semaines sur les réseaux sociaux du CNA à partir du 12 avril.

Patrick Galbats - L'amour au temps du Covid-19

Après plus de deux semaines de confinement sans pouvoir rencontrer ses ami(e)s, il me semble qu'une douce euphorie est venue s'installer. Soudainement, nous redécouvrons les longs petits déjeuners en plein milieu de semaine, des repas cuisinés chaque soir ou le plaisir de prendre un café sur son
balcon, au soleil sans bruits de trafic aérien. Les uns commencent à courir, les autres font leur déclaration d'impôts six mois plus tôt que d'habitude. Cette situation nous donne enfin l’opportunité de réaliser ce que nous avons toujours voulu faire.
La période que nous sommes en train de vivre va-t-elle nous rendre le temps perdu?
Mes images, toutes prises pendant le confinement à Bruxelles, sont une trace de ce voyage intime, entre amour, angoisse et légèreté.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Romain Girtgen - Investigateur dans le sud du Luxembourg

Investiguer dans Dudelange, Esch et le sud du Luxembourg pendant ce confinement forcé, révèle à moi des paysages urbains et naturels dans un tout nouvel état d’esprit. Ce terrain, qui m’est parfaitement familier et qui en temps normal bourdonne, est soudainement à l’arrêt. Prendre des photos n’est pas facile … il n’y a personne ! On se croirait tous les jours un dimanche après-midi où les gens restent chez eux. Au marché à Esch, quelques personnes osent sortir. Les vitrines des bistrots cachent des chaises repliées et des comptoirs vides…
Je pars en vélo pour capter ces rues vides, l’attente, l’arrêt, les activités en plein air …. et cette nouvelle manière de se rencontrer imposant une distance de 2m et le port d’un masque.
Cette nouvelle situation a aussi un impact sur ma propre vie, ma famille, mon entourage direct. D’un jour à l’autre, on se retrouve isolé de ses proches et la notion de temps commence à prendre une nouvelle dimension.

 

 

Veronique Kolber - On & Off the National 7

Conduire dans ma voiture, seule, le long de la Nationale 7. Prendre différents débouchés et découvrir où la route me mène. Être isolée dans un petit espace, sortir pour respirer cet air frais.

Ce travail n'est pas seulement une commande photographique, il représente le sentiment essentiel d'être libre de déambuler. Quelque chose qui semblait si ordinaire avant le confinement.

Documenter les villes presque vides et les paysages ruraux tranquilles du Nord du Luxembourg. Découvrir si la vie est aujourd'hui plus active dans ces vastes paysages que dans les principales villes du Nord.

Poursuivre la lumière du coucher de soleil à travers ce paysage morose et idyllique, mais avec une sensation très bizarre qui flotte parmi nous tous. Photographier la tombée de la nuit dans le calme. Mais aussi être présente quand un nouveau jour se lève.

Andrés Lejona – La Moselle luxembourgeoise 

Réalisation d’un registre graphique des aspects actuels sur le territoire

J’ai souhaité photographier la vie des habitants de la Moselle au jour le jour, en essayant de trouver les différences entre les ambiances et activités qui peuvent exister actuellement, en comparaison à l’état normal de la société en dehors des temps de pandémie. Mes prises de vues montrent les commerces opérationnels et ceux en arrêt, l’absence ou presque du trafic aérien, terrestre et fluvial, les salles des restaurants vides, la fermeture des accès vers les ponts marquant la frontière avec l’Allemagne, la stagnation des chantiers, la parenthèse de la vie sociale et culturelle (musées écoles, églises, etc).

Carole Melchior - L'instantané mobile (1)

Début avril, je me mets en route, je longe des paysages, je traverse des villages. Je photographie au rythme de ce déplacement, je saisis des bribes, des fragments, je prélève intuitivement. La couleur s'impose. Je roule, je marche, je m'arrête, j'observe.

Après dix-neuf jours de confinement seule chez moi, ce voyage au bord de la frontière semble une expédition. L'impression de sortir d'un vaisseau, ma maison, pour m'aventurer au dehors. Car il m'avait semblé sentir la terre tourner dans cette forme d'immobilité, dans ce territoire physique et psychique modifié. Attentive aux variations de lumière, de température, immergée dans la partition des oiseaux, chaque jour devenait une expérience un peu nouvelle, ma perception du temps se modifiait. Tout m'avait semblé intense ces dernières semaines de mars. De la peur, de la tristesse, de la colère, mais de la joie aussi, et le sentiment d'un printemps.

Mue par ce ressenti, j'aborde cette mission photographique, tentant de découvrir ce que la pandémie transforme dans les lieux que je traverse. Au fond c'est subtil je crois. Je capte alors au fil du chemin, comme les éléments d'une enquête, un relevé numérique, un flux visuel à travers lequel
je laisse une histoire se tisser, comme un instant ordinaire.

(1) J'emprunte ces mots « L'instantané mobile » à Jean-Christophe Bailly, dans son livre « Le dépaysement».

 

Marc Schroeder - BREAK

Le projet proposé s'articule autour de la notion (anglophone) de "Break" qui peut être définie à la fois comme "l'action de rompre" ou comme une "pause".

L'émergence du Covid-19 a provoqué une rupture à tous les niveaux de notre société et système actuel: de larges pans de l'économie, la mobilité des personnes et interactions sociales habituelles ont pratiquement cessé de fonctionner; les dirigeants politiques comme les experts étant aux prises avec le chaos provoqué par le virus comme première mesure pour lutter contre la contagion et afin de gagner du temps, la population a été mise en confinement et ordonnée de rester chez elle.

La deuxième définition, un peu plus optimiste, de "pause" dans le contexte de la crise, est celle d'un intervalle de repos par rapport à nos modes de vie surchargés. Le confinement et la mobilité réduite, offrent peut-être une opportunité de réflexion, une occasion de décélérer, d'inventer de
nouvelles formes de socialisation, de susciter des gestes de solidarité et de développer des mécanismes d'adaptation pour alléger le fardeau des restrictions en vigueur.

Dernière modification le