Exhibition Exhibition & Publication Real Life Dramas Mary Frey

From July 13 to November 25 2019 at DISPLAY 01

An important oeuvre in the history of US American photography is currently being rediscovered. After being shown for the first time in Europe at the Forum für Fotografie in Cologne, the work of the photographer Mary Frey is now displayed at the Centre national de l‘audiovisuel (CNA) in Dudelange. It carries us away to a small town in the west of Massachusetts, to the America of the 1970s and 80s. Even at first glance we can see how the pictures reflect Frey’s artistic debate with the trailblazers of American photography.

In 1991, Peter Galassi curated an exhibition entitled "Pleasures and terrors of domestic comfort" at MoMA in New York. Today, the catalogue for the MoMA exhibition reads like a compendium of the New American Photography. All the photographers who took part are leading names of very high artistic standing. Philip-Lorca diCorcia, William Eggleston, Gregory Crewdson, Cindy Sherman, Nan Goldin, Tina Barney, Joel Sternfeld, Nicholas Nixon, Lee Friedlander, Stephen Shore, Larry Sultan, Robert Adams, Larry Fink, Sally Man and … Mary Frey.

As a university teacher, Mary Frey inspired several generations of students between 1979 and 2015 at the Hartford Art School. While she did take part in several individual and group exhibitions in the USA after the exhibition at MoMA, following the birth of her child she cut down her public presence on the art market in favour of her family and her teaching work. 

Only when she stopped teaching three years ago did she become interested again in putting her work up for public debate. At a workshop run by the Hartford Art School Connecticut in Berlin, she met the publisher Hannes Wanderer, of Peperoni Books. It was thanks to Hannes Wanderer that the Forum für Fotografie in Cologne and the CNA made contact with Mary Frey’s work. In 2017, Peperoni Books brought out Reading Raymond Carver, using Mary Frey's black-and-white photographs from the years 1979 to 1983, which had first appeared under the working title Domestic Rituals. The book was a success; soon after its publication, it was nominated in 2017, as one of the shortlisted titles for the "Best First Photobook" award presented by Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation, and a second edition soon followed. In September 2018, Peperoni Books published Mary Frey's second book, Real Life Dramas.

Frey's artistic purpose is to question the process by which photographic documentary records are produced. The apparently spontaneous scenes that she depicts are, in fact, the carefully staged product of a deliberately conceptual approach. Mary Frey said herself that her intention is to "question the nature of photographic truth while using the iconography of middle-class customs to comment on societal values and systems".

Colophon  

  • Curators
    Dr Norbert Moos en collaboration avec Michèle Walerich (CNA)

  • Assisted by
    Michelle Kleyr

  • Archival processing
    Mylène Carrière, Sophie Dewalque, Michelle Kleyr, Manon Pinatel

  • Light installation
    Romain Girtgen

  • Condition report
    Mylène Carrière

  • Technical crew
    Kurt Gelhausen, Alexandre Useldinger

  • Logistics
    Thomas Appel

  • Communication
    Anne-Laure Letellier

  • Translations
    Why Vanilla ?

  • Graphic Design
    Mike Lamy

  • in collaboration with Forum für Fotografie, Cologne.

     
Buy the catalogue

 

 

In both of these groups of works Mary Frey takes a conceptual approach to the family portrait, presenting members of her own family and also friends and acquaintances from her neighbourhood and the local area going about their everyday tasks and meeting up together. 

The fascination of these harmless everyday scenes derives mainly from the detailed accuracy with which they are depicted and from the vivid, intimate atmosphere in which the actions are taking place. The prosaic ordinariness of the scenes gives the observer the feeling that they are actually taking part in whatever is going on. The casualness and familiarity that emanate from the images draw us in so that we unquestioningly accept the scenarios as convincing. 

Only when we take a second, closer look at Mary Frey's pictures do we see that the perfection of the composition and lighting, the virtuosity of the chromatic harmony, could hardly be the result of a real-life snapshot taken spontaneously; rather, her artistic creativity is expressed to masterly effect in camera-work that has been planned down to the smallest detail. Spontaneity is artificially produced and is the result of a carefully prepared catalogue of scenes in which the events, gestures and characters that Frey regards as significant are presented as "prototypes" by using a large-format camera, a tripod and the diffuse light from single-use flashbulbs.

In keeping with her premise that "a photograph shows us what we know, yet contains its own fiction", Frey subjects the photographic image to close scrutiny with regard to pre-existing ideas about the meaning and truth that are inherent in photography.

Frey pays special attention to the way our individual self-understanding and social value systems are impregnated by the culture of remembrance and by the contemporary context. That is why she so often references the influence of pop culture in her work. We can see how Mary Frey is apparently inspired by the ubiquity of the sitcoms and soap operas shown on TV, cheap novels and magazines like Look, LIFE and Good Housekeeping. She uses the situations depicted there as a kind of exemplary moment in her compositions.  

This is particularly true of her black-and-white pictures which capture the atmosphere and dynamic of the American middle-class family in the 70s and 80s. In the later, colour photographs for Real Life Dramas, Mary Frey went one step further and used short extracts of text from pop culture that load the banal, everyday scenes with contrived drama as a foil for her work.

In this way, the original unit of meaning of a documentary image, subsequently exposed as being artificially staged, is finally, in a further stage of ironic refraction and deliberate paradoxical confusion, reduced to absurdity. An unbridgeable gulf between the photographic depiction and the inner psychic reality of the people in the picture is exposed by Frey and presented as an issue. Nevertheless, Frey will not bow before the paradox between image and identity.

Like an iconologist who deconstructs an artwork by historical analysis and studies it as evidence of universal cultural phenomena, Frey uses the artistic process to reflect on the inventory of images that she uses. For this photographer, what can actually be depicted, and the deliberately banal, are just the starting points for reflecting on the multi-layered nature of mental states and how they can be conveyed.

Gail Buckland summed this up in her analysis of Frey’s work, comparing it with the artist’s main role model, Diane Arbus:

"Both women wanted to penetrate private places and be privy to intimate moments. Both women crossed accepted boundaries, Arbus by daring to 'stare' at those on the fringe of society and enter the private worlds of transvestites, dwarfs and the mentally deranged; Frey by setting her camera up in bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchens of productive, family-oriented middle-class Americans who were doing nothing out of the ordinary. The drama for Arbus was in how people looked. The drama for Frey is how people think and relate." (see the exhibition catalogue for “Mary Frey - Real Life Dramas”, Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC, 1987).

 

 

Artist Biography 

Mary Frey graduated from Yale University School of Art in 1979 with a Master of Fine Arts (MFA) and then taught photography at the Hartford Art School (until 2015). She has received numerous awards and fellowships for her work: a Guggenheim Fellowship (1984), two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts (1980/1992), a fellowship from the TeFoundation (2004) and an artist’s grant from the John Anson Kittredge Fund (2010). 

During the 1994-95 academic year, Mary Frey was the Harnish Visiting Artist at Smith College, Northampton, MA. In spring 2001 she completed a residency at the Burren College of Art, County Clare, Ireland.

There have been many exhibitions of Frey’s work and it is to be found in both private and public collections, including the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, the Art Institute of Chicago and the International Polaroid Collection. In 2017 the Berlin publisher Peperoni Books published the book Reading Raymond Carver, a collection of early photographs by Mary Frey. The book immediately entered the Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation’s shortlist for the 2017 “Best First Photo Book” award. In 2018 her second book Real Life Dramas was published, also by Peperoni Books.

Mary Frey lives in Massachusetts, United States.

www.maryfrey.com

Last update

Exposition Exposition & Publication Real Life Dramas Mary Frey

Du 13 juillet au 25 novembre 2019 au DISPLAY 01

Une œuvre significative dans l’histoire de la photographie américaine vient d’être redécouverte. Après une première exposition en Europe au Forum für Fotografie de Cologne, les travaux de la photographe Mary Frey sont présentés au Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) à Dudelange. Ses images nous transportent dans une petite ville de l'ouest du Massachusetts, en plein coeur de l’Amérique des années 1970 et 1980. Dès le premier coup d’oeil, elles laissent apparaître leur discours artistique avec les grands précurseurs de la photographie américaine.

En 1991, Peter Galassi a organisé au MoMA de New York une exposition intitulée « Pleasures and terrors of domestic comfort ». Son catalogue s’apparente aujourd’hui à un compendium de la « New American Photography », tant il réunit de photographes de renom : Philip-Lorca diCorcia, William Eggleston, Gregory Crewdson, Cindy Sherman, Nan Goldin, Tina Barney, Joel Sternfeld, Nicholas Nixon, Lee Friedlander, Stephen Shore, Larry Sultan, Robert Adams, Larry Fink, Sally Man et … Mary Frey.

Mary Frey a marqué des générations d’étudiants de 1979 à 2015 en tant que professeure à la Hartford Art School. Si, après cette exposition au MoMA, elle a pris part à de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives aux États-Unis, elle a renoncé à toute représentation publique sur le marché de l’art après la naissance de son enfant afin de se consacrer à sa famille et à son activité d’enseignante.

Ce n’est qu’à la fin de sa carrière académique, il y a trois ans, que Mary Frey a retrouvé l’envie de soumettre son oeuvre à la discussion. Le Forum für Fotografie de Cologne et le CNA sont entrés en contact avec son oeuvre grâce à l’éditeur Hannes Wanderer de Peperoni Books, qu’elle a rencontré à l’occasion d’un atelier de la Hartford Art School Connecticut à Berlin. En 2017, Peperoni Books a publié Reading Raymond Carver, un recueil d’images en noir et blanc réalisées par Frey entre 1979 et 1983 et initialement présentées sous le titre Domestic Rituals. Le livre a rencontré un grand succès : peu après sa publication, il s’est retrouvé en 2017 dans la sélection du Paris Photo – Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Award pour le « Best First PhotoBook » et a paru sous une deuxième édition. Le deuxième livre de Mary Frey, Real Life Dramas, également édité par Peperoni Books est sorti pas plus tard qu’en septembre 2018.

L’intention artistique de Mary Frey consiste à remettre en question le processus de création de documentations photographiques. Ce qui nous semble capturé spontanément est en réalité le produit d’une mise en scène conceptuelle soigneusement réfléchie. Mary Frey elle-même explique que son intention est « de remettre en question l’essence de la vérité photographique et de recourir à l’iconographie des moeurs bourgeoises pour commenter les valeurs et les systèmes sociaux ».

Colophon  

  • Commissaires
    Dr Norbert Moos en collaboration avec Michèle Walerich (CNA)

  • Assistés par
    Michelle Kleyr

  • Traitement archivistique
    Mylène Carrière, Sophie Dewalque, Michelle Kleyr, Manon Pinatel

  • Éclairage
    Romain Girtgen

  • Constats d’état des oeuvres
    Mylène Carrière

  • Équipe technique
    Kurt Gelhausen, Alexandre Useldinger

  • Logistique / Logistics
    Thomas Appel

  • Communication
    Anne-Laure Letellier

  • Traduction
    Why Vanilla ?

  • Conception graphique
    Mike Lamy

  • Réalisation
    en collaboration avec le Forum für Fotografie, Cologne.
Acheter le catalogue

 

 

Dans ces deux séries d’oeuvres l’artiste se confronte au travers d’une approche conceptuelle au sujet du portrait de famille, en présentant les membres de sa propre famille, mais aussi des amis et des connaissances de son quartier et de son entourage dans des actes et des rassemblements de tous les jours.

La fascination que dégagent ces scènes quotidiennes inoffensives tient surtout au souci du détail dans la représentation, ainsi qu’à la vitalité et à l’atmosphère intime des actes effectués. La sobriété prosaïque des scènes donne à l’observateur la sensation d’en faire directement partie. Cette impression de moments saisis en passant et d’intimité familière estompe la distance avec l’observateur, à qui les scénarios paraissent plausibles sans qu’il soit nécessaire de les remettre en question.

Seul un second regard attentif aux photos de Mary Frey le confirme : le perfectionnisme de la composition et de l’utilisation de la lumière ainsi que la virtuosité des harmonies chromatiques ne sauraient résulter du réalisme de l’instantané. La construction des images est au contraire travaillée dans les moindres détails, exprimant la créativité artistique de première force de Frey. La spontanéité est produite artificiellement, fruit d’un catalogue de scènes minutieusement préparé présentant comme « prototypes » les actions, les gestes et les caractères chers à Frey au moyen d’un appareil grand format, d’un trépied et de la lumière diffuse de flashs à usage unique.

Fidèle à son idée selon laquelle « une photographie nous montre ce que nous savons tout en recelant sa propre fiction », Mary Frey soumet le produit photographique à une remise en question fondamentale des conditions du sens et de la vérité immanents à la photographie.

L’artiste prête une attention particulière à la manière dont les mémoires et le contexte contemporain imprègnent notre image de nous-mêmes et notre système social de valeurs. Ainsi cite-t-elle fréquemment des influences de la culture pop dans son oeuvre. Mary Frey se dit ouvertement influencée par l’omniprésence des sitcoms et feuilletons télévisés, des romans à quatre sous et des magazines comme Look, LIFE et Good Housekeeping. Elle utilise les situations qu’elle y trouve comme point de départ stylistique pour ses mises en scène.

C’est particulièrement le cas de ses images en noir et blanc, qui rappellent l’atmosphère et la dynamique d’une famille de la classe moyenne aux États-Unis dans les années 70 et 80. Dans les photographies en couleur réalisées plus tard pour Real Life Dramas, Mary Frey ira encore un peu plus loin en contrecarrant ses travaux par de brefs extraits de textes issus du contexte de la culture pop, conférant à la banalité des scènes quotidiennes une dynamique artistique.

L’unité de sens initiale d’une image documentaire, qui ne tarde pas à se révéler être une mise en scène, est ainsi menée ad absurdum, toujours un peu plus loin dans la réfraction ironique et dans le jeu de désorientation paradoxal. Mary Frey dévoile et problématise un fossé infranchissable entre le portrait photographique et la réalité psychique intérieure des personnes photographiées, sans pour autant se soumettre au paradoxe entre image et identité.

À la manière d’une iconologue qui observe et étudie une oeuvre d’art selon une analyse historique et en tant que témoin de phénomènes culturels, Mary Frey examine l’inventaire d’images dont elle se sert au travers du processus artistique. Le factuellement représentable et le délibérément banal ne sont pour la photographe que le prétexte d’une réflexion sur la pluridimensionnalité des états psychiques et sur la manière de les transmettre.

Gail Buckland résume cette idée dans une analyse de l’oeuvre de l’artiste et une comparaison avec Diane Arbus, grand modèle de Mary Frey :

« Toutes deux souhaitaient pénétrer dans des espaces privés et assister à des moments intimes. Toutes deux ont franchi des limites acceptées, Arbus en osant « regarder » celles et ceux qui vivent en marge de la société et s’introduire dans l’univers privé des travestis, des nains et des malades mentaux, et Frey en installant son appareil dans des chambres, des salles de bain et des cuisines d’Américains productifs de la classe moyenne, orientés famille, qui ne faisaient rien qui sorte de l’ordinaire. Le sujet d’Arbus résidait dans l’apparence des gens. Le sujet de Frey réside dans ce que les gens pensent et dans leur rapport aux autres. » (voir catalogue de l’exposition « Mary Frey Real Life Dramas », Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC, 1987).

 

 

Biographie de l’artiste

Mary Frey a achevé son Master of Fine Arts (MFA) à la Yale University School of Art en 1979 avant d’enseigner la photographie à la Hartford Art School (jusqu’en 2015). Elle a obtenu de nombreuses distinctions et bourses pour son travail : une bourse Guggenheim (1984), deux bourses du National Endowment for the Arts (1980/1992), une bourse de la TeFoundation (2004) ainsi qu’une autre du John Anson Kittredge Fund (2010).

Pendant ses années académiques (1994-1995), Mary Frey a été « Harnish Visiting Artist » au Smith College, Northampton, MA. Au printemps 2001, elle a achevé un séjour au Burren College of Art, County Clare, Irlande.

L’oeuvre de Mary Frey a été exposée à de multiples reprises et fait partie de collections tant privées que publiques, telles que celle du Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) de New York, du Museum of Fine Arts de Houston, du Chicago Art Institute ainsi que de l’International Polaroid Collection. En 2017, la maison d’édition berlinoise Peperoni Books a publié l’ouvrage Reading Raymond Carver contenant des photographies de jeunesse de Frey. Le livre s’est aussitôt retrouvé dans la sélection du Paris Photo – Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Award pour le « Best First PhotoBook ». Son deuxième livre Real Life Dramas a paru en 2018, toujours chez Peperoni Books.

Mary Frey vit dans le Massachusetts, États-Unis.

www.maryfrey.com

Dernière modification le