Extra Muros Event  |  Special Event our archive. your story In the framework of Esch2022, European Capital of Culture

Place:
6 municipalities from the Esch 2022 region
Dates:
From 2022.03.26 12:00
to 2023.01.01 18:00
With:
Esch 2022 - European Capital of Culture

our archive. your story

The ‘our archive - your story’ project pays tribute to the south of Luxembourg and its emblematic sites highlighted by Esch 2022. Due to its location in the heart of Luxembourg’s south, the Centre national de l’audiovisuel (CNA) has naturally received over time numerous documents relating to the towns and villages of the mining basin. These documents testify to the rise and the gradual fall and disappearance of the steel industry, but they also more generally trace the economic, social, cultural, family and daily life of the region.

The objective of the project entitled ‘our archive – your story’ is to raise awareness among a wide and diverse audience of the importance of Luxembourg’s audiovisual heritage and its conservation by reaching out to people and meeting them where they live, in their towns and villages. This will allow us to raise new funds for the CNA's archives, help enrich our collections and thus preserve the audiovisual memory of Luxembourg’s southern regions.

Following the Esch 2022 program, emblematic locations have been chosen in six selected municipalities of the ‘bassin minier’ in order to create a roadmap around the images and sound archives of the CNA. These landmark sites will serve as the basis for the organization, in collaboration with local partners, of a series of events over a limited period of time in each of the municipalities. A special effort will be made to collect recent documents from young people and newcomers to the region in order to reflect the plurality of experiences both over time and across different populations.

 

 

Stëmme vun der Schmelz

Exhibition

Waassertuerm + Pomhouse, CNA

March 26, 2022 – January 1, 2023

As part of the ‘our archive - your story’ project and on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of our iconic site ‘Waassertuerm + Pomhouse’, the CNA presents the exhibition 'Stëmme vun der Schmelz' in homage to the former industrial site and its workers.

The CNA is teaming up with artist Michel Feinen and scenographer Anouk Schiltz to carry out a project based around eyewitness accounts of the former steel plant in Dudelange. The project aims on the one hand to bring together testimonies, objects and historic documents to create a (non-exhaustive) inventory of everyday life on the site during its days as a fully functioning steel plant. On the other hand, the project pays tribute to the steel mill’s former workers by allowing them to share their stories and installing durable audiovisual traces on the site. Numerous historical documents as well as interviews with former workers form the starting point for a multimedia immersion in the past of the Waassertuerm + Pomhouse site - a symbolic place in the south of Luxembourg.

 

 

Esch2022, European Capital of Culture

In 2022, together with 10 PRO-SUD municipalities, and 8 municipalities in France, in the Communauté de Communes Pays Haut Val l’Alzette (CCPHVA), Esch-Alzette, Luxembourg’s second largest city, will be European Capital of Culture. Each year this label is awarded to a different city or area within the European Union.

Under the slogan REMIX Culture and its four sub-sections REMIX Art, REMIX Europe, REMIX Nature and REMIX Yourself, Esch2022 aims to create synergies, guarantee sustainable development and, most importantly, ensure that the general public gets actively involved.

Esch2022 creates a new perception of the region as an attractive cultural and city trip destination, creates new offers and attractions, strengthens regional identity and increases international popularity.

 

Visit the website of Esch 2022

Evénement extérieur  |  Evénement spécial our archive. your story Projet dans le cadre de Esch2022, Capitale européenne de la culture

Lieu:
6 communes ciblés par Esch 2022
Dates:
Du 26.03.2022 12:00
jusqu'au 01.01.2023 18:00
Avec:
Esch 2022 - Capitale européenne de la Culture

our archive. your story

Le projet our archive - your story vise à rendre hommage au sud du Luxembourg et à ses lieux emblématiques valorisés par Esch 2022. De par sa localisation, le Centre national de l’audiovisuel a naturellement reçu au fil du temps de nombreux documents en relation avec les villes et les villages du Bassin minier. Ces documents témoignent de l’essor puis de la disparition progressive de l’industrie sidérurgique, mais aussi plus généralement de la vie économique, sociale, culturelle, familiale et quotidienne de la région.

L’objectif du projet our archive - your story est de sensibiliser un public large et divers à la valorisation du patrimoine audiovisuel en allant à la rencontre des gens là où ils vivent, dans leurs villes et villages. Les gens pourront ainsi participer à la collecte de nouveaux fonds pour les archives du CNA et contribuer à l’enrichissement de ses collections.

Suivant la programmation de Esch 2022, des sites emblématiques ont été choisis dans les six communes sélectionnées afin de créer un itinéraire autour des archives images et son. Ces sites serviront de base pour organiser, en collaboration avec les partenaires locaux, une série d’événements sur une période de temps limitée.  Un effort particulier sera fait pour récolter des documents récents émanant des plus jeunes et des nouveaux arrivants dans la région afin de refléter la pluralité des expériences aussi bien dans le temps qu’à travers les différentes populations. 

 

 

Stëmme vun der Schmelz

Exposition

Waassertuerm + Pomhouse, CNA

26 mars 2022 – 1 janvier 2023

Dans le cadre du projet 'our archive - your story' et à l’occasion du dixième anniversaire du site Waassertuerm+Pomhouse, le CNA  présente l’exposition 'Stëmme vun der Schmelz' en hommage à l’ancien site industriel et à ses ouvriers.

Le CNA s’associe à l’artiste Michel Feinen et à la scénographe Anouk Schiltz pour réaliser un projet autour des témoins de l’ancienne usine sidérurgique de Dudelange. Le projet a pour objectif d’un côté de rassembler des témoignages, objets et documents dans le but d’un état des lieux (non-exhaustif), de l’autre côté de créer un hommage aux anciens travailleurs en installant des traces audiovisuelles durables sur le site. De nombreux documents historiques ainsi que des entretiens avec des anciens ouvriers forment le point de départ pour une immersion multimédia dans le passé du site Waasserttuerm+Pomhouse – lieu symbolique du Sud du Luxembourg. 

 

 

Esch2022, Capitale européenne de la culture

En 2022, Esch-sur-Alzette, deuxième ville du Luxembourg, avec les 10 communes Pro-Sud, ainsi que les 8 communes françaises de la Communauté de Commune Haut Val d’Alzette (CCPHVA), sera Capitale européenne de la culture. Ce label est décerné chaque année à une autre ville ou à un autre territoire de l’Union européenne.

Sous le leitmotiv « Remix Culture » et ses 4 sous-rubriques « Remix Art », « Remix Europe », « Remix Nature » et « Remix Yourself », l’asbl Esch2022 vise à créer des synergies, assurer un développement durable et, surtout, engager le public à participer activement.

Esch2022 développe une nouvelle image de la région comme destination culturelle et touristique attrayante, crée de nouvelles offres et attractions, renforce l’identité régionale et augmente sa visibilité internationale.

 

 

Visitez le site internet de Esch 2022