Learn  |  Professionals  |  Workshop Vision Lab - media practice Workshop with Uwe H. Martin

Type:
Workshop
Place:
Centre national de l'audiovisuel 1b, rue du Centenaire , L-3475 Dudelange , Luxembourg
Dates:
From 2021.09.20 08:00
to 2021.09.24 18:00
With:
Uwe H. Martin
Price:
full : 150€ reduced : 75€
Number of participants:
8
Language(s):
English, German

VISION LAB – How to build a sustainable media practice, reach new audiences, and initiate change

Things were great, when you left school. You were full of dreams of traveling the world to write or photograph important stories, shoot amazing films, leave an impression and help change the world. Yet, just a few years later, „Real Life“has crushed most of your dreams and plans. You are constantly running to keep the wheel of the media threat mill spinning, be it on your staff job where the constant cost cutting take away the very sair to breath, be it as a freelancer where you often ship less than exciting work just to keep the lights burning and the bread on the table.

Every now and then, there is a story, a project, a collaboration that still excites you. However, there are increasingly more times when you think about leaving journalism, film, photography, the creative world all-together. But you are not ready to give up yet.

This workshop is for you.

This is a wide open, deeply personal, challenging and hands on Vision Lab for people with the desire to develop journalism / film / photography beyond traditional limits, reach new audiences, build a sustainable media practice and to initiate change.

The workshop will cover a wide range of alternative publication and financing strategies for documentary work, dive into grant writing, expert status, personal brand and professional identity, focus on the long-tail and explore what makes projects connectable to contexts far beyond media. At the same time you will be developing your own vision, projects and strategies.

About the trainer

Uwe H. Martin is an independent visual storyteller, slow journalist and educator. His long-term projects, which combine photography with documentary film, text and sound, focus on the great environmental issues of the Anthropocene. Using a slow journalism approach, his projects on the social and environmental consequences of global agriculture build bridges from traditional journalistic publications, such as Geo and Süddeutsche Zeitung, over linear web-documentaries and interactive apps, to spatial installations at art institutions.

Uwe initiated (together with Ursula Biemann) the collaborative art and research project World of Matter, that investigates primary materials and the complex ecologies of which they are a part. Recognizing the urgent need for new ways to finance quality freelance journalism, Uwe also cofounded RiffReporter, an innovative collaborative ecosystem and business incubator for independent journalism. His newest endeavor is the experimental Salton Sea Sustainable Salt Community that offers regenerative solutions for a planet heating up.

Uwe teaches journalism, photography, filmmaking and multimedia storytelling at universities and journalism schools around the world and also leads workshops ranging from water policy to urban climate adaption.

http://uwehmartin.de/

 

Terms of enrollment:

Please send in an application file with:

    A biography

    A short portfolio

    A short description why you want to take part in this workshop

Infos & registration : mylene.carriere@cna.etat.lu
T. +352 52 24 24 702

Pédagogie  |  Professionnels  |  Atelier Vision Lab - media practice Workshop avec Uwe H. Martin

Type:
Atelier
Lieu:
Centre national de l'audiovisuel 1b, rue du Centenaire , L-3475 Dudelange , Luxembourg
Dates:
Du 20.09.2021 08:00
jusqu'au 24.09.2021 18:00
Avec:
Uwe H. Martin
Prix:
full : 150€ reduced : 75€
Nombre de Participants:
8
Langue(s):
Anglais, Allemand

VISION LAB – Comment construire une pratique des médias durable, atteindre de nouveaux publics et initier le changement

Tout allait bien lorsque vous avez quitté l’école. Vous étiez plein de rêves, de parcourir le monde pour écrire ou capturer les plus importantes histoires, réaliser des films incroyables, laisser votre empreinte et aider à changer le monde. Pourtant, quelques années plus tard, « la vraie » vie a bouleversé la plupart de vos rêves et de vos projets. Vous êtes maintenant pris dans l’engrenage de l’économie actuelle des médias, où la réalité vous empêche de prendre le temps de souffler et vous contraint à laisser de côté les projets les plus intéressants, simplement pour pouvoir subvenir à vos besoins.

De temps en temps, vous travaillez encore sur un projet ou une collaboration qui vous emballe. Cependant, vous pensez de plus en plus à quitter le journalisme, le cinéma, la photographie, le monde créatif dans son ensemble.

Mais vous n’êtes pas encore prêt à abandonner.

Ce workshop est fait pour vous !

Ce workshop est construit comme un laboratoire exigeant, personnel et ouvert, qui s’adresse aux personnes désireuses de développer leurs pratiques journalistiques, photographiques ou cinématographiques au-delà des limites traditionnelles, d’atteindre de nouveaux publics, de construire une pratiques plus durable des médias et de démarrer le changement.

Ce workshop couvrira un large éventail de stratégies de publication et de financement alternatives dans le domaine du documentaire. Nous plongerons dans la rédaction des demandes de subventions, des statuts d’expert, du développement de sa marque personnelle et son identité professionnelle. Dans le même temps, vous développerez votre propre visions, projets et stratégies. 

À propos d’Uwe H. Martin 

Uwe H. Martin est un auteur visuel indépendant, journaliste et enseignant. Ses projets de longue haleine qui associent photographie et film documentaire, texte et son, abordent les grands enjeux environnementaux de l’anthropocène. Utilisant une approche du journalisme lent, ses projets sur les conséquences sociales et environnementales de l’agriculture mondialisée créent des liens entre les publications traditionnelles, telles que Geo ou Süddeutsche Zeitung, et des formes moins classiques, web-documentaires, applications interactives, jusqu’aux installations dans les institutions culturelles et muséales.

Uwe a créé (avec Ursula Biemann) le projet collaboratif artistiques et de recherche World of Matter, qui explore les matières premières et les écologies complexes dont elles font partie. Reconnaissant le besoin urgent de nouveaux canaux de financement pour le journalisme indépendant de qualité, Uwe a également cofondé RiffReporter, un écosystème collaboratif innovant et un incubateur d'entreprises pour le journalisme indépendant. Sa plus récente action est la mise en place de la communauté expérimentale Salton Sea Sustainable Salt Community qui offre des solutions régénératives contre le réchauffement de la planète.

Uwe enseigne le journalisme, la photographie et la narration multimédia dans les universités et écoles de journalisme du monde entier. Il anime également des workshops sur la politique de gestion de l’eau ou encore l’adaptation climatique en milieu urbain. 

 http://uwehmartin.de/

 

Modalités d'inscription:

Veuillez envoyer un dossier de candidature avec:

     Une biographie

     Un petit portfolio

     Une brève description  des raisons pour lesquelles vous souhaitez participer à cet atelier

 

Infos & inscription : mylene.carriere@cna.etat.lu
T. +352 52 24 24 702